Wednesday, June 5, 2013

RUSH Racing Series

After three races in the inaugural RUSH Late Model Touring Series, points in the top ten are close and take in drivers from five states. 


The most recent event was the Bill Emig Memorial Wild Card Weekend at Sharon Speedway on May 25-26.  A total of 38 different drivers competed at the Hartford, OH oval.

Mike Pegher, Jr. won the opening night of the Bill Emig Memorial Wild Card Weekend at Sharon on May 25.  Pegher started ninth in the 26 car field and got the lead on a lap 18 restart of the 25 lapper.  Pegher avoided a gasp-inducing, multi-car crash on lap 18, as the fast pack led by Chad Ruhlman and Josh Holtgraver encountered lapped traffic.  Heavy damage sidelined the front running cars of Ryan Montgomery, Will Thomas and Chad Wright.

After having his car destroyed Saturday evening, Ryan Montgomery and crew pulled out their back-up mount and went on to win night number two of the RUSH/Bill Emig Memorial Touring race at Sharon Speedway on Sunday, May 26.  The 16 year old phenom started in the fifth slot, taking the lead from current RUSH Touring Point Leader Glenn Elliott on lap ten, holding off a late race threat by Joe Martin.

Current RUSH Touring Series Points:

  1. 5E Glenn Elliott, MD - 290
  2. 99* Rick Singleton, PA - 288
  3. 1c Mike Pegher, Jr., PA - 283
  4. 55 Joe Martin, PA - 277
  5. 12 Ryan Montgomery, WV - 264
  6. 4s Chad Ruhlman, NY - 258
  7. K2 John Over, PA - 251
  8. 00 Josh Holtgraver, PA - 250
  9. 38 Josh Double, OH - 241
  10. 01 Matt Glanden, MD - 239

Next Touring race is set for McKean County Speedway (PA) on Friday, June 14, with $1500 to win.

No comments:

Post a Comment